New Clients Come My Way, Hooray — No Part Time Job Today

A couple of posts ago I told all you lovely readers that I was blocked in some way, and no writing work was coming in no matter what I did to market my services. It was looking like I’d have to take a part-time job, also known as anathema to me. I’ve been kind of sad and freaked out all week, applying for jobs I really really really don’t want.

The keyboard of the Malling-Hansen writing bal...

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday I did a  whole bunch of deep and scary inner work at the recommendation of my teacher. And then today, after three months with barely a nibble, three potential jobs rolled in — one quite substantial and possibly long term.

Coincidence, you say? I think not!

I’m forever grateful to be able to work with someone so insightful who gives me such clear guidance. I would never have known what was going on, much less what to do about it without his help.

After a three month famine, I say, give me a writing and editing feast! Give me writing work, I don’t care if it’s deadly dull techno babble or topics I know and care nothing about. Give it to me!

I promise never to complain about dull writing jobs again. (And you believe that? Silly, gullible readers.)

After all, boring writing jobs pay just as well as interesting writing jobs. They keep the dreaded minimum wage part-time job at bay.

I can pretty well promise I won’t stick to this promise because I’m from New York and we love to complain. It’s like the state bird. It’s almost an art form, and of course, it has to be razor sharp, witty complaining. Complaining that results in a good laugh. Dare I say, therapeutic complaining?

Do you know what I mean? Don’t you need a good bitch session every now and then?

I’ll keep you all posted on how these jobs pan out. (One is for a somewhat famous person, but since no-one likes a name dropper, I’m not going to tell you who it is. After all, I want you to like me.)

 

Posted on March 14, 2012, in About Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Congratulations! Glad some jobs came in for you. :)

  2. Hey, you broke Murphy’s Law, well done! ;)

  3. Excellent news! Congratulations!

  4. That is good news! Congratulations!

    I happen to like name droppers….just saying! :)

Got something to say? I'd love to hear it...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

